Tickets available for March 11 annual charity concert in Kawasaki

by Takahiro Takiguchi
Stripes Japan
Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall, one of Japan’s most prestigious, is hosting its annual charity concert in honor of the victims of the Great East Japan Earthquake. The Charity Concert for the Great East Japan Earthquake has been held every year since 2014, after two years of renovations and repairs were completed on the hall, which was damaged in the March 2011 earthquake that killed more than 15,000.
The concert is free but those attending are asked to donate 1,000 yen ($8.50) to the victims of the disaster. The money collected will be sent to disaster recovery activities via Kawasaki City.
The concert will be limited to 400 pairs of tickets (800 total). You can apply for the concert by either filling in the application form on its webpage: or sending a postcard with the following information: 
Name, address, phone number, number of tickets you would like (1 or 2), name of your guest. There are right wheelchair seats available and if you wish one, be sure to note that.
The mailing address is:  3/11 Muza Charity Management Office, #158-8570 (Applications are accepted from Jan. 15 – Feb. 16).
If the number of applications top 800 tickets, a raffle will be used to determine who is granted tickets.
Charity Concert for the Great East Japan Earthquake
Location: Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall (Kawasaki City, Kanagawa Pref.)
Date/Time: Mar. 11, 2:30 p.m. (hall opens at 1:30 p.m.)
Fee: Free (a donation of 1,000 yen expected)
Performing Pieces:
- J. S. Bach: Air on a G String
- Tchaikovsky: Elegie from Serenade in C major, Op.48 
- Elgar: Nimrod from Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36, “Enigma”
- Beethoven: Symphony No.6 in F major, Op.68 “Pastoral”
Conductor: Kazuyoshi Akiyama
Orchestra: Tokyo Symphony Orchestra
MC: Miyako Yamada
For more information, call Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall at 044-520-0200 (10 a.m. - 6 p.m.).

Recommended Content